Plasma theory

Welcome to the website of the plasma theory research group at Chalmers University of Technology. We belong to the Division of Subatomic, High Energy and Plasma Physics of the Department of Physics.


10th Runaway Electron Modelling (REM) meeting between June 19th — June 23rd 2023


Bert-Inge Hogsved's prize March 15th
Congratulations to Ida Ekmark and Esmée Berger for the [Bert-Inge Hogsved's prize for best enterpreneurship]( They got the prize for developing the [STREAM]( code together with Mathias Hoppe.
Post-doc opening March 7th
We are looking for a post-doc to join the Extreme Plasma Flares project. Apply through the [web-link](
PhD student opening February 23rd
We are looking for a PhD student to join the Extreme Plasma Flares project. Applications should be submitted via this [web-link](
Best PhD thesis award to Mathias Hoppe February 12th
Congratulations to Mathias Hoppe for winning the [Best PhD thesis award](!

Upcoming events

MSc presentation Ida Ekmark will present her MSc thesis with the title [Multi-objective Bayesian optimization of tokamak disruptions using both fluid and kinetic models]( on 31 March 11-12 in the PJ seminar room.

Per Helander from Max-Planck Institute for Plasma Physics, Greifswald will visit between April 15th — 23rd.

Jubilee professor We are happy to welcome Caterina Riconda as a Jubilee Professor to our group. She will spend 2 months at Chalmers to collaborate on issues concering laser-matter interaction. Her first visit took place 11-21 December 2022. Her second visit is planned for 23 April - 3 June.

Fusion Frontiers and Interfaces workshop Tünde has been invited to give a talk on "Challenges of runaway electrons in magnetic fusion plasmas" at the Fusion Frontiers and Interfaces workshop at York Plasma Institute (remote) on 25 April.

Tünde will go to Toledo, Spain between April 28th — 30th. She will participate in the Journal of Plasma Physics Editorial Board meeting.

Licentiate seminar Oskar Vallhagen will present his Licentiate thesis on 17 May 2023, 10:15 in the PJ seminar room.

Dominika Maslarova from Institute of Plasma Physics, Czech Academy of Sciences will visit between May 22nd — June 4th.

Ida, Oskar and Tünde will go to Max-Planck Institute for Plasma Physics, Garching between June 19th — 23rd. They will participate in the REM workshop.

Tünde will go to Cadarache between June 29th — July 1st. She has been invited to give a talk on "Modelling runaway electrons" at the [12th ITER International School on the Impact and Consequences of Energetic Particles in Fusion Systems](

Ida, István and Mufei will go to 49th European Conference on Plasma Physics between July 3rd — 7th. István has been invited to give a talk on "Runaway electron dynamics in ITER disruptions mitigated by shattered pellet injection". Ida will present "Bayesian optimization of disruption scenarios with fluid-kinetic models". Mufei will present "Kinetic modelling of autoresonant beat-wave excitation of plasma waves".

Oskar will go to IAEA Fusion Energy Conference, London between October 16th — 21st. He plans to present a contribution with the title "Runaway electron dynamics in ITER disruptions with shattered pellet injection". Members of our group are also co-authors on contributions by M Lehnen "Physics basis and technology development for the ITER disruption mitigation system", by A Järvinen "Bayesian approach for uncertainty quantification and data-efficient optimization in fusion research" and E Nardon "Modelling of runaway electron dynamics in tokamak disruptions".

Contact details

Department of Physics
Chalmers University of Technology
SE-412 96 Göteborg

Email: tunde at

Phone: +46 31 772380

Find us: The group's offices are on the top (3rd) floor of the Soliden part of the Physics building. The address is Fysikgården 1. This map shows various routes to find the place.

Plasma Theory calendar
Copyright © 2023 Chalmers Plasma Theory group